Review of Poulenc's Gloria & Honegger's King David  1/25/2018

A superbly disciplined chorus in fine performances of two fundamentally joyful twentieth century French sacred masterworks...Overall: a fine evening, with the Voices of Ascension at their very best.
— Jean Ballard Terepka - - February 4, 2018

Review of Monteverdi Vespers of 1610 2/22/2018

A vibrant and marvelous performance of an early modern choral sacred masterpiece...Keene’s clarity of vision and direction, the musicians’ happy and deeply felt responsiveness to both Monteverdi and Keene, the bright acoustic warmth of the high church space, and the audience’s eager embrace of the music and its meanings made for an inspired and inspiring evening.
— Jean Ballard Terepka - - March 5, 2018

Review of Tracing The Path of Zurbarán's Jacob & His Twelve Sons 3/13/2018

Over the course of the evening, the musicians – choristers, soloists, instrumentalists – succeeded in offering a full range of human experiences, from grief to joy, from quiet contemplation to thrilling triumph...the concert was marvelous. Its close and felicitously developed thematic connections to the Zurburán exhibit made for an intellectually and spiritually rewarding experience. The evening was splendid.
— Jean Ballard Terepka - - March 29, 2018

Review of Fauré and the Russian Orthodox Tradition 2/5/2015

The choral blend was beautifully balanced. In the riveting setting of the second sentence of Fauré’s “Agnus Dei,” the music ebbed and flowed like waves in the ocean.
— Barbara Jepson - Wall Street Journal - February 10, 2015

Review of Rossini's Petite Messe Solennelle at Alice Tully Hall

Throughout the score, Mr. Keene kept the rhythms so sharp and vital, and the textures so polished and transparent, that every syllable of the Mass came through clearly.
— Allan Kozinn - The New York Times - March 24, 2010

Review of Voices of Ascension at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

The choir sounded luminous, hushed yet sensuous, as they negotiated Messiaen’s subtle harmonies.
— Arlene Judith Klotzko, The Classical Music Network, December 18, 2011